0%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Yosemite or Joshua Tree 4/19-4/26

Search this Thread

Old Sep 3rd, 2023, 04:14 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yosemite or Joshua Tree 4/19-4/26

Hi! I’m new to road-tripping and have only done one this past April from Vegas to Zion to Bryce to Lake Powell to antelope canyon and horseshoe bend. That trip took us 7 days and we had time to rent a boat at Lake Powell for 2 days. I traveled with my husband and 2 13 yr olds, we rented a camper and plan on doing that again for this trip.

We are trying to decide between flying into San Fran staying for a night or staying in Santa Cruz then traveling down the coast stopping along the way including Monterey Aquarium until Big Sur, after we would travel to Yosemite then back to San Fran OR

Fly into LA stay in Santa Monica, go to Joshua Tree, Palm Springs (after Coachella is over) to San Diego then maybe Laguna before heading back to LA.

My questions are which would be better weather wise for that time of year, would one of the trips be more fun for teenage boys then the other, is it going to warm enough for them to swim anywhere? Also, I’d love any feedback about things I could add, things that aren’t worth seeing, or if I should rearrange my route.

Thank you in advance, I appreciate your help
Old Sep 3rd, 2023, 05:38 PM

Received 17 Likes on 4 Posts
Welcome to Fodor's! Depending on where you want to rent the camper, you might want to fly into Sacramento or maybe Oakland instead of SFO. There may still be snow in Yosemite in the second half of April. If there is a sudden warmup, there might even be flooding on the Merced River. It is possible to take a train (San Joaquin) to Merced or Fresno and take a YARTS bus into Yosemite. There are a couple of camping options inside Yosemite and at least one campground nearly an hour outside Yosemite. I have stayed at the "BUG" hostel near Midpines and it does have an adjacent campground.